Established 1957

Home Competitions Clubs Officials Rules History Links

Sam Black Memorial Blitz

When its ex-chairman, Professor Sam Black, died in 1999, the League decided to hold a tournament in his memory. This grew and eventually became the annual North London Individual Blitz Championship.

The first event was played over 10 rounds, but, subsequent tournaments have been played over 6 double-game rounds. In 2012 the tournament split into an Open and an U151 Challengers, returning to a pure Open in 2014.

From the 11
th event it was renamed the Sam Black Memorial Blitz

For full details of each tournament click on the year.


1999  Mike Tasker

2000  Paul Georghiou

2001  IM Alexander Cherniaev

2002  Jochen Wittman

2003  IM Alexander Cherniaev

2004  IM Colin Crouch

2005  not held

2006  GM Alexander Cherniaev

2007  Paul Georghiou

2008  Peter Poobalasingam

2009  GM Alexander Cherniaev

2010  Paul Georghiou

2011  GM Gawain Jones & Paul Georghiou

2012  IM Thomas Rendle    /   Russell Goodfellow (U151)

2013  IM Thomas Rendle    /   Nasarullah Sheikh (U151)

2014  GM Bogdan Lalic

2015  GM Tamas Fodor

2016  FM David Haydon & Adam Bukojemski

2017 GM Bogdan Lalic & FM David Haydon